Fire District Consolidation

On January 1, 2021, the nine, autonomous fire districts consolidated to become one Hamilton Township Fire Division.

Prior to consolidation, each of the nine districts was governed by five elected commissioners and had their own individual budgets.  The process to consolidate the fire districts has been one the Township has considered for over twenty years with the most recent proposal beginning in 2015. This proposal had faced many setbacks, but remained one of the top priorities for Mayor Jeff Martin’s administration. The Department of Community Affairs’ Local Finance Board approved the fire service consolidation on September 9, 2020 by a unanimous vote, followed by Council approving the ordinances by a unanimous vote, and Mayor Martin signing said ordinances on October 13, 2020.

Mayor Martin and members of the Hamilton Township Fire Division

  1. 2020 Fire District Audits
  2. Fire Dissolution Public Documents
  3. Fire Dissolution Public Meetings

2020 Fire District Audit Reports

Visit the Budget Information Page and select 2020 to locate the fire audit reports.